On Harmony and Humanity

I saw harmony down in Denton town one day about two weeks ago;

I was waitin’ for my daughter to get off work, so I around the town square I did stroll.

The park benches around the Court House there, are invitin’ to the general public;

As I meandered around the square that day, more than once on those I did sit.

Upon the benches facing East were two men of different breeds;

The one with long hair smoked a pipe; the one with a Cowboy hat wore Western style jeans.

Yet as I observed from a distance, as upon those benches they sat;

I noticed their friendly demeanor, as they enjoyed the breeze and did chat.

Now on the side that faced the North, three young men there were gathered;

They smoked cigars and discussed their brands, my presence nearby seemed not to matter.

Two young mothers and their toddlers were in the shade on the side facing West;

Pictures the proud mothers were taking; but the kids seemed to like rolling in the grass the best.

On the lawn facing South a half dozen young adults sat singin’;

The young man with the yellow doo rag played guitar; so pleasant harmonious tones were ringin’.

When folks gather in number, of different cultures, genders, and races;

With good will in their hearts, and sincere smiles upon their faces.

Then there one finds humanity in harmony;

For there is truly harmony in humanity…

When folks gather in number, of different cultures, genders, and races;

With good will in their hearts, and sincere smiles upon their faces.

For such I saw in Denton town about two weeks ago;

For I saw harmony in Denton town that day; and I loved it… dont ya know!!!

Leave a Reply

