The Journey of Life

Life seems to be a journey consisting of constant trial and error experiences within the framework of consistent natural principles which are indifferent one way or the other to cause and effect.

It seems to me that my inner self thinks, deliberates; and ultimately guides my general conduct throughout this journey known as life.

My inner self has been conditioned and influenced  for  so long as I can remember.

I have been informed and misinformed; educated and indoctrinated on a daily basis for so long as I can remember.

I have been the victim of misinformation, and I have been the beneficiary of a sound education.

I have been the victim of existing in a universe which operates consistent to natural principles which are indifferent to the results of cause and effect.  (The memory of getting my teeth knocked in by a baseball at the age of 8 years comes to mind).

I have been the beneficiary of existing in a universe which operates consistent to natural principles which are indifferent to the results of cause and effect. (The memory of the births of each of my 3 children comes to mind).

I have spoken words which encouraged and helped others.

I have spoken words which discouraged and hurt other others.

Regrets?

A few.

I regret not moving my glove in front of my face that day in 1969 when I got my teeth knocked in by that baseball.  Or that I just didn’t duck.

I regret words that I have spoken and deeds that I have done which caused unnecessary grief for others.

Ultimately, it seems to me that the inner self which guides my general conduct can be a friend or a foe.

Life seems to be a journey consisting of constant trial and error experiences within the framework of consistent natural principles which are indifferent one way or the other to cause and effect.

And then the journey ends.

One thought on “The Journey of Life

  1. This is a very interesting reflection! I think our inner self is like a conglomeration of everything we have experienced and how we felt about it and how we learned from it or didn’t. On top of that, we have the power to change our inner self….by deciding how we react from something…such as regretting our past mistakes or not. We are constantly molding our inner self.
    The idea of your inner self being a friend AND a foe is so true. It can give us joy or it can lead us down the wrong path….I guess it’s human just like the rest of us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

