Keepers of the Flame

I believe that we are keepers of the flame.

 

It seems to me that there lies within each of us a spark of goodness which glows ever so calmly as a light of love, and  which helps us to see the way clearly when we are guided by our natural sense of kindness and compassion.  The milk of human kindness is thus warmed from within to a degree desirable to self and satisfactory to the palate of all peoples ….

 

It seems to me that there lies within each of us a flame of potential fury and frustration which can all too easily get out of control and become a wicked wildfire, when we give in to egotism and anger.  The milk then turns sour from overexposure to the undesirable elements of the negative side of our thinking, and becomes distasteful to self and dissatisfactory to one and all….

 

I do not know “who” put the flame within me.  Nor “how” that flame came to be.

 

I only know that I; and I alone, am the keeper of my flame.

 

For it is I; and I alone, who must ignite that spark of goodness within my own self; if indeed I am to be the good person that I want to be.

 

And it is I; and I alone, who must extinguish the wildfire of hostility and hatred which can all too easily and all too often arise from within the negative side of me.


Indeed, I am the keeper of my flame.

Leave a Reply

