Life In The Crib

I was born in Fort Worth, Texas;
Back in 1961.
Open the book,
Another male born Henderson.

Hands were there to help me,
Tended to my basic needs.
My diapers, they were changed.
And someone David Lee did feed.

My first social experience,
If only now I knew their names.
No way to ever know,
But I am thankful just the same.

‘Cause they helped me through it all,
My first day of life I mean.
I could never have made it without them,
It’s like a foggy dream.

Don’t think I gave a moment’s thought,
As to the sexual orientation.
Of the one who gave me my bottle,
When my gut with hunger was aching.

Don’t think I gave a moment’s thought,
As to the color of the skin.
Of the arms that held me close,
When I had started cryin’.

But as I think on my first day of life,
And as on these things I reflect.
I wish I had the chance to thank them all,
For good deeds and care I do hate to neglect.

Yeah, and I wish I were back in my crib,
Where the color of a person’s skin.
Meant no more to me,
Than that of their sexual orientation.

Yeah, and I wish I were back in my crib,
Where a person’s sexual orientation.
Meant no more to me,
Than that of the color of their skin.

‘Cause such did not matter to me,
On that Spring day back in 1961.
Yeah, I was too damn ignorant to discriminate,
On that Spring day back in 1961.

Yeah such did not matter to me,
On that Spring day back in 1961.
‘Cause I was too damn ignorant to know to hate,
On that Spring day back in 1961.

Dave Henderson
Denison, Texas

Leave a Reply

