The Gospel: A Terrorist’s Terms

One thing about the whole gospel message thing that does not add up. Always did bother me.

So the basic scenario; at least as I was taught it:

1. Sin is our own fault (even though god made us this way)

2. Death is the consequences of sin (but that’s not good enough, you have to be eternally tortured as well)

Now, when you start questioning the ethics of the God for creating a scenario which leads to sin and subsequent eternal torture, invariably you get the whole “well, God gives you the freedom to choose, because you are a free moral agent. So if you die in sin, then it’s no ones fault but your own”.

Choice. So God gave me a choice, did he?

Well. I don’t recall ever having a choice in whether I got to live in the first place.

I don’t recall ever having a pre-birth orientation explaining the full scenario, and being allowed to read the fine print before I signed on the dotted line and gave my free will consent to this arrangement.

And what is this arrangement? What details would I like to have been privy to before being thrust into this situation?

Well, let’s cut to the core, so to speak.

The arrangement per life is that you have a 50/50 shot at winning the Celestial Lottery, a grand sweepstakes at an all expenses prepaid stay at the Grand Heavenly Hotel; while the suckers in life who did not make the right choices will be eternally tortured in the dungeon below.

But don’t worry, the eternal torture chamber is sound proof, so the endless screams and agony of your friends and family members (perhaps even your own children) who made the wrong choices in life will not disturb the solace and serenity of eternal life in paradise with the other grand sweepstakes winners who were like you, and knew how to kiss up properly, and who were scholarly enough to know which holy book to believe in, and therefore you knew which deity’s butt to kiss sufficiently so as to be named a winner when the drawing took place.

No…..

I don’t recall having such an arrangement explained to me before giving my consent to live.

Hence, this 50/50 gamble was thrust upon me, even as I was thrust into this life involuntarily, and without giving my consent to such.

I don’t know about others.

But being thrust into such an arrangement hardly seems fair or even just to me.

And so as to the possibility of my being eternally tortured being my own fault because God gave me a free choice?

Poppycock!!

God never gave me, or anyone else a choice under such an arrangement.

God gave me a terrorist’s terms under such an arrangement.

And I don’t care much for being blackmailed by anyone.

And it is certainly not a matter of freedom of choice.

For if the terms would have been explained to me sufficiently, and had I been give the free will opportunity to choose to simply not live, then I would not be typing these words even now.

And so that is what bothers me about “the gospel”.

The gospel are a terrorist’s terms which dictate that I kiss his royal butt sufficiently, or be eternally tortured.

I am a victim of circumstances. And without giving my consent to such.

And so is everyone else.

That is: If the Bible is in fact true.

One thought on “The Gospel: A Terrorist’s Terms

  1. Brilliant! And the 50:50 chance you gave yourself of “winning” is probably way too high. If you were born into a non-Christian family and became Buddhist or Hindu, you would have <3% chance. And, even if you were born into a Christian family, there are 30,000+ sects; what if the one you were born into was heretical and believe a few wrong things? The odds of the contest that nobody gave you a chance to opt out of are way less than 50% of winning.

    But like the Opt Out Movement in Public Education, you found a loophole in the rules. Like the proverbial kid who stops a game by taking his ball and going home, you stopped believing in the game, aka "there is no spoon."

Leave a Reply

